Therme Forum on
Theater & Architecture
© Therme Group 2023. All Rights Reserved.
Therme Forum on
Theater & Architecture
© Therme Group 2023. All Rights Reserved.
Rafal Dutkiewicz

Mayor of Wrocław

Rafał Dutkiewicz, born 1959 in Mikstat, politician, businessman, academic lecturer, “Solidarity” activist, Mayor of Wrocław from 2002 to 2018. 

He holds a master’s degree in Applied Mathematics and a PhD in formal logics. 

During his presidency, Wrocław has seen the highest number of public investments in its post-war history. According to Eurostat, between 2006 and 2016 the Lower Silesia region  had the highest increase of the employment rate in the entire UE (mostly generated in the capital of Lower Silesia which is Wrocław). 2018/2019 Wrocław was ranked the third city in Europe in terms of economic growth.

Under his leadership Wrocław attracted investments from more than 200 Polish and international companies representing the most modern sectors of production and services which led to a steady growth of the GDP per capita, more than 10% annually. Overall, in the last 16 years the city budget has tripled and GDP per capita has doubled.

During his service Wrocław has become a truly international city with over 200.000 foreigners from 124 countries.

In 2012 Wrocław co-hosted UEFA Euro 2012 Football Championship, in 2016 the city was the European Capital of Culture, in 2017 Wrocław hosted the World Games. In 2018 Wrocław was awarded the title of European Best Destination 2018.

Recent Activities:

In April 2019, on invitation of the prestigious Robert Bosch Academy, Dutkiewicz began his residency as a fellow at the Richard von Weizsäcker Academy and moved to work from Berlin. 

In November 2019, Dutkiewicz as the third Polish speaker delivered a speech in Bundestag.

In April 2020 he was admitted, for one year, as a Senior Fellow in the Democracy Study Centre in Kiev.

From 2020 activ in the private sector.

He is a member of Wrocław University Council.

Rafał Dutkiewicz’s numerous awards and distincions include: 

Commander of the Order of the Star of Italian Solidarity (Italy, 2006)

Belgian Officer – Order of the Crown (Belgium, 2006) 

Order of the Polar Star (Sweden, 2011)

Legion of Honor (France, 2013)

Commander’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta (Poland, 2015)

Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (Germany, 2017)

National Preis of Germany (Germany, 2017)

Jerusalem Prize in recognition of merit to the State of Israel and Polish-Jewish community (2019)